### "Removal of Banners and Paramilitary Flags in Belfast

In accordance with notice on the agenda, Councillor Beattie proposed:

"This Council is alarmed at the increasing number of offensive displays of banners and paramilitary flags across Belfast.

Paramilitary flags and banners supporting British regiments are being used to divide, offend and cause hurt to victims.

The British Ministry of Defence and the Parachute Regiment do not endorse these flags or banners and have stated they should only be displayed in certain circumstances.

Re-traumatising victims with offensive displays is wrong and should have no place in our society.

Standing by and allowing our citizens to be divided and hurt is no longer an option.

This Council agrees to take legal action against the Department for Infrastructure enforcing it to remove:

- 1. all Paramilitary flags, unless permission is granted by the Department for Infrastructure with protocols that protect citizens; and
- all banners without planning permission on Department for Infrastructure property, unless permission is granted with protocols that protect citizens."

The motion was seconded by Councillor D. Baker.

#### **Amendment**

Moved by Councillor Ferguson, Seconded by Councillor Matt Collins,

That the motion standing in the name of Councillor Beattie and seconded by Councillor D. Baker be amended to provide for the deletion of everything after the words "This Council" in the first sentence and the insertion of the following:

"condemns the increasing number of offensive displays of banners and paramilitary flags across Belfast and the recent erection of banners such as "Support Soldier F", which gave great offence to victims of the parachute regiment.

Paramilitary flags and banners supporting British regiments are being used to divide, offend and cause hurt to victims.

The British Ministry of Defence and the Parachute Regiment do not endorse these flags or banners and have stated they should only be displayed in certain circumstances.

Re-traumatising victims with offensive displays is wrong and should have no place in our society.

Standing by and allowing our citizens to be divided and hurt is no longer an option.

This Council agrees to take legal action against the Department for Infrastructure, enforcing it to remove: "Support Soldier F" banners and other such materials which have serviced to re-traumatise victims of the Paratroopers, and are erected on Dfi property."

On a recorded vote nine Members voted for the amendment and forty-six against and it was declared lost.

#### For 9

Councillors Matt Collins, Michael Collins, de Faoite, Ferguson, Heading, Lyons, McCusker, McKeown and Whyte.

## Against 46

The Lord Mayor (Councillor Finucane);
The Deputy Lord Mayor (Councillor
McReynolds);
The High Sheriff (Alderman Sandford);
Aldermen Copeland, Haire, Kingston,
McCoubrey and Rodgers; and
Councillors D. Baker, S. Baker, Beattie,
Black, Brooks, Bunting, Canavan, Carson,
Cobain, Corr, Dorrian, Flynn, Garrett,
Graham, Groves, Hanvey, Hargey, Howard,
Hussey, Hutchinson, M. Kelly, T. Kelly, Kyle,
Magee, Magennis, McAllister, McAteer,
McDonough-Brown, McLaughlin, McMullan,
Mulholland, Murphy, Newton, Nicholl,
O'Hara, Pankhurst, Verner and Walsh.

### **Amendment**

Moved by Councillor McAllister, Seconded by Councillor McDonough-Brown,

That the motion standing in the name of Councillor Beattie and seconded by Councillor D. Baker be amended to provide for the deletion of points 1 and 2 at the end of the motion and the insertion of the following:

"1. all flags, unless permission is granted by the Department for Infrastructure with protocols that protect citizens; and 2. all banners on Department for Infrastructure property, unless permission is granted with protocols that protect citizens."

On a recorded vote fifteen Members voted for the amendment and thirty-nine against and it was declared lost."

## For 15

The Deputy Lord Mayor (Councillor McReynolds); and Councillors de Faoite, Hanvey, Heading, Howard, M. Kelly, Lyons, McAllister, McCusker, McDonough-Brown, McKeown, McMullan, Mulholland, Nicholl and Whyte.

# Against 39

The Lord Mayor (Councillor Finucane);
The High Sheriff (Alderman Sandford);
Aldermen Copeland, Haire, Kingston,
McCoubrey and Rodgers; and
Councillors D. Baker, S. Baker, Beattie, Black,
Brooks, Bunting, Carson, Cobain, Matt Collins,
Michael Collins, Corr, Dorrian, Ferguson, Flynn,
Garrett, Graham, Groves, Hargey, Hussey,
Hutchinson, T. Kelly, Kyle, Magee, Magennis,
McAteer, McLaughlin, Murphy, Newton, O'Hara,
Pankhurst, Verner and Walsh.

## **Amendment**

Moved by Councillor Whyte, Seconded by Councillor de Faoite,

That the motion standing in the name of Councillor Beattie and seconded by Councillor D. Baker be amended to provide for the deletion of everything after the words "This Council" in the first sentence and the insertion of the following:

"agrees to take legal action against the Department for Infrastructure, enforcing it to remove:

- 1. all paramilitary flags; and
- 2. all flags and banners erected where lawful authority from the Department has not been sought and granted."

On a recorded vote fifteen Members voted for the amendment and forty against and it was declared lost.

# For 15

The Deputy Lord Mayor (Councillor McReynolds); and Councillors de Faoite, Hanvey, Heading, Howard, M. Kelly, Lyons, McAllister, McCusker, McDonough-Brown, McKeown, McMullan, Mulholland, Nicholl and Whyte.

# Against 40

The Lord Mayor (Councillor Finucane);
The High Sheriff (Alderman Sandford);
Aldermen Copeland, Haire, Kingston,
McCoubrey and Rodgers; and
Councillors D. Baker, S. Baker, Beattie,
Black, Brooks, Bunting, Canavan, Carson,
Cobain, Matt Collins, Michael Collins, Corr,
Dorrian, Ferguson, Flynn, Garrett, Graham,
Groves, Hargey, Hussey, Hutchinson,
T. Kelly, Kyle, Magee, Magennis, McAteer,
McLaughlin, Murphy, Newton, O'Hara,
Pankhurst, Verner and Walsh.

On a recorded vote, thirty-four Members voted for the original motion, which had been proposed by Councillor Beattie and seconded by Councillor D. Baker, and eighteen against, with three 'no votes', and it was declared carried.

<u>For 34</u>	Against 18	No Vote 3
The Lord Mayor (Councillor Finucane); The Deputy Lord Mayor (Councillor McReynolds); and Councillors D. Baker, S. Baker, Beattie, Black, Canavan, Carson, Corr, de Faoite, Flynn, Garrett, Groves, Hanvey, Hargey, Heading, Howard, M. Kelly, Lyons, Magee, Magennis, McAllister, McAteer, McCusker, McDonough-Brown, McKeown, McLaughlin, McMullan, Mulholland, Murphy, Nicholl, O'Hara, Walsh and Whyte.	The High Sheriff (Alderman Sandford); Aldermen Copeland, Haire, Kingston, McCoubrey and Rodgers; and Councillors Brooks, Bunting, Cobain, Dorrian, Graham, Hussey, Hutchinson, T. Kelly, Kyle, Newton, Pankhurst and Verner.	Councillors Matt Collins, Michael Collins and Ferguson.